the evolution of understanding

Has anyone ever been “fully” right, and if they have, what does that look like?  I know I’m not right 100% of the time, I’m just not so certain where I’m wrong.  If I knew I were wrong, I’d not hold those views to begin with (assuming there is not an incentive to dig my heels into the sand), which means I’m holding some percent of incorrect views out of ignorance, and due to limited time, and lack of information,  I’ll probably die a very wrong man.

This problem is compounded by the fact that large aspects of the truth are grey, so it’s a guessing game, and your guess is, to some extent, as good as mine.  That’s not to say we don’t know certain things are factual, but even the facts can be interpreted differently for different reasons.

For that reason, I assume that, on any given issue, the other side is some percent right, and therefore, I’m some percent wrong.  The game then, is to maximize my “rightness”, but that requires a certain bit of humility as well as the extra energy required to read viewpoints that may challenge a comfortable worldview.  And that, my friends, is not as easy as it sounds, but it’s why I’ve created this blog.  To explore the nuance of things, and to try to discover some truth along the way.

